American dream… crushed.

As much as I hate to have to say this, it looks like we are going to have to renew our lease at our apartment complex for another year. They don’t have the option to lease for anything less than 12 months. 

At first, it had seemed my mom was going to help us get a house, but then she changed her mind and didn’t mention it anymore when we would see her. I finally brought up the subject again, and she said, “Well your apartment is very nice. Why don’t you just stay there until things get better?” I didn’t want to push the subject because she is in no way obliged to help us. We are in this financial rut because of our own decisions.

So it looks as though we are going to save part of our tax return so that next year we could possibly get a house. We are also going to start the process of getting our credit fixed. 

I am sad about this. I’m not saying there is anything wrong with renting, but I was already day dreaming about owning a bigger home. I had already imagined the kids playing in the backyard and then painting the walls and planting flowers in the entrance. I was already imagining barbeques with the family and using the extra room as a toy room for the kids. 

We did look at one home that we could’ve gotten with the down payment that we had, but WOW. It was so run down and small. I tell Edward that we need to LOVE the house that we choose because it’s such a huge investment. So, we are just going to have to wait a little longer.

My goal is to own a home before I’m 30. 

I have 4 years to go!

About christyrendon

I'm a 26 year old working mom of two amazing kids, Adan (2 1/2) and Christy (1).. I've been married for 3 years to Edward..

Leave a Reply

