Am I overreacting?

Okay so as many of you know, I’m a working mom. I work from 8am to 5pm. Obviously, if we could depend on my husband’s income, I would stay home with my son. However, we can’t because there’s no way we can depend on that. So luckily, we have my mother-in-law watching him during our work hours.

Now I don’t know if I’m overreacting, but I get jealous that she gets to spend so much time with him and that at times he favors her over me. Sometimes, she makes it worse because she will say things like, “Adan is mine.” And then if he goes to her instead of me, she will say, “Why don’t you go with your mom? Why do you come to me all the time?” And I don’t think that’s fair because if I could, I would be the one home with him. And it bugs me that she says that he is hers.

 

I am the one that:

 

-gave birth to him

-is his mother

-buys his food, diapers, clothes, and toys

-put a roof over his head

-makes sure he has electricity and water

 

Am I wrong to feel like this? I don’t think I can really talk to her about it because she is so generous and watches him better than anyone. Is this a sacrifice I have to make so that my son will be safe? I think so… Plus, I don’t want to hurt her feelings..

Should I tell my husband about this or just shut up and get over it?

I’d appreciate any advice 🙂

About christyrendon

I'm a 26 year old working mom of two amazing kids, Adan (2 1/2) and Christy (1).. I've been married for 3 years to Edward..

4 responses to “Am I overreacting?

  1. I think kids are always like that with grandma,I wouldn’t worry about it,he knows who his mom is. I think it’s great that you have someone to watch your kid. When that time comes when I do have a baby I’ll be working in the morning,my husband at night we will be lucky to see each other.

  2. No your not wrong or overreacting at all. I hated that too so much my son (oldest child) did that because I worked & went to school so much he always wanted my mom or mother in law, but when I had Kami I made sure she was mine lol. I was working just as much but it was nights instead of days so no one had to watch them because justin was home. Dont worry he’ll grow out of it & want you more. I know it hurts your feelings because I used to cry about it literally lol. But now my sons 5 and hes def. stuck up my but more now. 🙂 But my mother in law still makes comments like that about both my kids it drives me crazy cuz she rarely sees them now & still says it.

  3. @Dreamsxofxsummer – Yea we actually tried doing that whole thing of having different shifts, but he couldn’t find a nighttime job so this is what we will have to do until we figure out a better solution 🙂

  4. @Aletheas_Unspoken_words – Yea it drives me nuts because I’m like HELLO it’s MY baby.. You’re just watching him while I’m gone that’s all.. Plus I think my son is kinda mad that I’m pregnant lol… I’m glad to know though that he will get over it and like me more again lol.. That is a little selfish I know… But hey it’s the least we can ask for after all the sacrifices we make for our babies 😉

Leave a Reply

