Business and family don’t always mix.

Okay so my dad had a major stroke at the end of May. He was the one running this business before, but the stroke left him unable to speak or walk. He is getting therapy for everything of course, but he will never be the same again.

So my mom is running the business since it’s under her name anyway. And frankly, I don’t understand a lot of the decisions that she is making.

Well now my uncle Robert is kind of like the Vice-President of this company. So now he has more power and authority.

To be honest, I think he is raping this company.

My dad FOUNDED this company, yet he never really used the money in stupid ways. My uncle is taking advantage of his newfound power and is being spoiled by my mom. He is from Houston (like 5 hours away), so he convinced my mom to rent him a house using the company to pay for it. $1,000 a month so that he could stay here a few days out of the week. And that’s because we pay for his airfare or gas if he decides to drive.

Oh yeah, speaking about driving, he has my dad’s FORD SALEEN in Houston. That is an expensive vehicle that belongs to my dad and ROBERT has it in Houston for personal use. When he is down here in the valley, he would borrow my dad’s Lincoln Mark LT, which is another expensive vehicle. SOMEHOW, he convinced my mom to buy him a used $17,000 truck as a company expense. WTF??? And to top it off, my mom bought him an iPad 3 that he doesn’t even use because he doesn’t even know how to use it.

I don’t like how things are running now that my dad is gone. It kind of makes me realize who really gives a shit about this company.

I really miss my dad. I know he is alive and I need to thank God more often for letting Dad still be with us, but it’s not the same anymore. I miss him coming in and smelling his cologne. Everyone knew my dad’s cologne smell. I miss his hugs.. I miss watching other people say hi to him with commanded respect. Everyone always respected my dad because he has always been a great man. Of course, he had his faults, the biggest one being his gambling addiction, but he was honestly a very special man. People respect me for just being his daughter.. He was one of those individuals that always wowed people with the way he became a successful person. He loved this company. He looked forward to coming to the office. I was always proud to introduce him as my father. He has always been my hero.

And now this company is in the hands of my mother who doesn’t really know how to run it and doesn’t know shit about roofing or construction… and in the hands of my Uncle Robert too, who does know roofing and construction, but doesn’t have his heart in this business and is basically wasting money and throwing it down the drain…

I MISS YOU DAD.

About christyrendon

I'm a 26 year old working mom of two amazing kids, Adan (2 1/2) and Christy (1).. I've been married for 3 years to Edward..

2 responses to “Business and family don’t always mix.

  1.          I´m so sorry for what happened to your dad and now his company. I hope he will get a little better every day … Are you working at the company too?

  2. @Lilasunflower – thank you yes he has gotten better 🙂 but he will never really be the same ya know?yea I had another job but my mom asked me to come back in April and I’ve been here ever since

Leave a Reply

