I know this sounds corny but I’m glad that my parents cared enough to make sure I went to school nearly all of the time, that they made sure I graduated.. I was talking to my coworker and he is only 19 and he only went up to 10th grade and then he got kicked out for skipping class too much.. He said his mom was never around enough to get mad at him… Now here he is working a hard job for minimum wage… Yea of course he has responsibility to himself and his parents to make the right choice and go to school… But would it have helped if his mom and dad were on his ass making sure he wasn’t skipping? Absolutely… Well that’s just my opinion… But I’m grateful my parents did give a damn about me..

About christyrendon

I'm a 26 year old working mom of two amazing kids, Adan (2 1/2) and Christy (1).. I've been married for 3 years to Edward..

4 responses to “

  1. Hard out… I had to leave school before I was 16 but that was over something completely different, I wish so much that I’d had the chance to finish school. Good on your parents! If they hadn’t made sure you went to school all the time, would you have?

  2. @andweknowthis – Oh yeah definitely… I was a scaredy-cat about skipping class, but maybe also because I knew my parents would reprimand me… But what I’m getting at is that there are some kids that need to be pushed in the right direction… And while at first they might hate going to school, later on they can be thankful that they finished with the nudging of a caring parent..Well I’m not an experienced parent yet lol… but that’s what I think…

  3. Good entry, and I agree with your sentiments. Sometimes parents that care about you can be overbearing, but I think it’s better than the alternative of them not giving a damn about you. Parents can do so much for their kids to help give them that extra edge in life to help them succeed.

Leave a Reply

