Lesson Learned

Ok so I have been whining lately about being in my mid-twenties and not having a degree. My coworker Alfie basically schooled me.

He was telling me that life is too short and we need to take advantage of our opportunities. He is from Mexico, and he reminds me that here in the USA there is a lot of help. And to top it off, my dad owns a business without having completed middle school. I graduated from high school and went to college for like 2 years… Why am I the one working at a low-level job?

Alfie basically said what my parents have been telling me my whole life – that I have had the advantage of having supportive parents, that they paid for my college tuition before I was even a teenager, that I am smart and I have the capacity and need to make a better life for myself and my son. He told me that yesterday I shouldn’t have been embarrassed about working here because we all have our low moments, but that we also have our higher moments and that they are all part of our lives and we need to appreciate them. Here I am, feeling ashamed working here, and there are people out there without jobs, without homes.

Okay, so I am not in the best place in my life right now, but am I really going to stop here? Is this it? NO WAY!! I am not that old yet.

 

After all these years, I am finally understanding what I need to do, and that it’s up to ME to make it happen. Wouldn’t it have been easier if I understood when my mom was telling me this a few years ago? silly

**********************************************************************************************************************************************************************

On another note, I am so excited because we finally finished our little Christmas tree. It’s a 6 foot artificial tree, but it’s still pretty. I want a big fat tree next year. I prefer artificial ones because duh they last longer and they don’t make such a mess like the real ones.

 

We also started buying some Christmas gifts.. I love Christmas shopping (besides the fact that I end up broke afterwards haha) I also bought a small 2-foot tree and small ornaments for the tree here at the office seeing as how my bosses don’t seem to budge to decorate this office. It’s so pretty and has so much potential, but all they care about is getting their money and passing the health inspector’s tests so they can keep receiving their money.

OMGG… I remembered at 1:00AM that we were running out of baby formula, so my hubs had to leave to get it from Walmart. Our WIC does not get renewed until tomorrow, so we did buy it, but luckily Adan is not on the expensive formula anymore. He is on Similac Sensitive for Spit-Up as opposed to the Nutramigen Formula which costs $22 for the small one!! I can’t wait until he is old enough to drink regular milk haha… 

Well I shall get back to work ๐Ÿ™‚

~Christy

About christyrendon

I'm a 26 year old working mom of two amazing kids, Adan (2 1/2) and Christy (1).. I've been married for 3 years to Edward..

2 responses to “Lesson Learned

  1. Good Job!!!! and kudo’s to your friend!!!!! Email me sometime ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. @baileyanne86 – Thanks Bailey!! And I will definitely email you ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

