23 going on 40.

Yesterday I texted my mother-in-law Alma to see how she was feeling since she is still in recovery from her surgery and she is still sore. She then asked me to ask Edward to take her to the doctor on Thursday morning. I told her more than likely he would be okay with taking her. So i tell him about it and he seemed pretty annoyed about it.

Okay, this is the lady that has always been there for us when we needed her the most. She is one of the most selfless persons I’ve ever known. I’m embarassed to say this, but one time we were sooo broke and we didn’t have enough for diapers, and she bought us some for Adan when he was just a newborn. She has taught me how to cook some foods. She never asks for anything in return. So why is a favor like this a big deal? Oh, because he didn’t want to drive all the way to Elsa (it’s like 50 minutes away from us). -_-

I got so mad at him. I told him, “how could you even think like that after all she has done for you and me? I would hope that when Adan gets older and I need him to take me to the doctor after surgery he would be happy to do it.” He says, “It’s just that my brother lives 5 minutes from him and he never does anything for her. It’s always me.” I tell him, “It doesn’t matter what your brother does or doesn’t do. What matters is that YOU should be there for someone when they need you, especially your mom.”

Ay dios mio. My husband is 7 1/2 years older than me, and I feel like I need to teach him so many things. I am 23 going on 40. 

~Christy.

 

About christyrendon

I'm a 26 year old working mom of two amazing kids, Adan (2 1/2) and Christy (1).. I've been married for 3 years to Edward..

2 responses to “23 going on 40.

  1. I think that your feelings are justified.  I sometimes feel like men just don’t understand, like they forget what brought them to where they are.  But I will say that applies to everyone as well….

  2. Yea i think sometimes we take our parents for granted… hopefully i reminded him he needs to care more for her.

Leave a Reply

